ResourceSmart Schools Awards

The Eastern Alliance for Sustainable Learning (EASL) is an alliance between five councils: Knox, Manningham, Maroondah, Whitehorse and Yarra Ranges, supporting sustainability initiatives in schools and early years.

EASL is the delivery partner for the ResourceSmart Schools (RSS) program across the Eastern Metro Region of Melbourne. RSS is an award-winning and internationally recognised program funded by the Victorian Government and is free and open to every Victorian School. RSS provides practical support to schools to reduce resource use, make cost savings and embed sustainability into the campus, curriculum and community.

The 12 categories of RSS awards acknowledge and honour ResourceSmart Schools who have prioritised sustainability, community action and incorporated sustainability into the curriculum over the past year. ‘Achieving great things’ was the theme for the 2023 with an awards ceremony at the MCG on 15th June celebrating all the amazing initiatives of these schools. Congratulations to all the finalists across the state, especially our EASL winners and finalists.

Winning schools
Teacher of the Year (primary): Danielle Lamport from Monbulk Primary School for improving the school’s sustainable infrastructure and empowering environmentally aware generations.
Curriculum Leadership School of the Year (Secondary): Lilydale Heights College for incorporating sustainability and indigenous Perspectives across the curriculum.
Community Leadership of the year: Eastwood Primary School and Deaf Facility (Maroondah) for working closely with Maroondah Council, Bedford Park Community Centre, Precious Plastic Melbourne, a small grant from EACH was used to expand their kitchen garden and then provided soup to a nearby church for families in need and were visited by a US school delegation to see and hear about all the amazing things Eastwood does.
RSS School of the Year: Eastwood Primary School and Deaf Facility (Maroondah), a 5 star school who show outstanding commitment to sustainability.

Teacher of the Year (Secondary): Andrew Feher Mount Lilydale Mercy College
Curriculum Leadership of the Year (Secondary): Croydon Community School, Croydon
Community Leadership School of the Year (primary): Mount Scopus Memorial College
Student Action Team of the Year (Primary): Monbulk Primary School
ResourceSmart School of the Year: Mount Lilydale Mercy College